Coming off Vacation

Over the past couple of weeks I have struggled immensely with my body image following my vacation to Vegas. Before leaving I felt amazing. I was more confident with myself than I had ever been before. I was following a meal plan that I loved and seeing a lot of progress. While in Vegas I continued with my workouts but was off of my meal plan. After coming back I felt like I gained 20-30 pounds and destroyed all of the progress that I had seen before hand.

A year ago or even 6 months ago, I wouldn’t have confided in anyone. I would have tried to deal with this on my own and eventually made it worse. However, I’ve realized that there are people that care and people that understand these issues. There are people that are willing to talk to you and help you through bad body image days. So I told my coach. I told him how I felt, and he assured me that it was the mental aspect of coming off of vacation and it was a normal thing.

I decided that maybe he could be right. Maybe the part of my brain that was telling me it was all in my head was right. That the half of my brain that told me that it was strictly destroyed progress was the one that was wrong. So I took a picture from before I left for Vegas (LEFT) and one from just the other day (RIGHT) and put them next to each other.

forblog

As you can see, this was purely mental. You can’t destroy months of progress in four days. You can’t 20-30 pounds in four days, just like you can’t lose that weight in four days. Having a coach that understands the importance of mental health is vital. A coach is someone that you are in constant contact with. Your daily interactions with people effect everything that you and impact your daily routine. Having a coach that understands how mental health and your interactions with people effect you is important for reaching your goals.

Vacations are meant to be enjoyed.
Vacations come after months of hard work.
Being off of your meal plan while on vacation is okay. It’s not a step backwards in your progress. Being able to come back from a week off and get back on track is something that can be challenging. It’s a mental accomplishment. Your health is not solely physical, and neither are gains. Mental gains are just as important and satisfying as physical ones.

Your mental health impacts every aspect of your life. If you’re not comfortable in your own skin, you won’t be comfortable anywhere. This will in turn effect your goals, which is why it is so important to surround yourself with people that you can confide in whether you are having a good body image day or a bad one.

“We can get caught up in our own thoughts easily. It’s important to ask for an outside opinion and to give it consideration before passing judgement on ourselves”
— Brian Mark (Insta: bmarkwbffpro)

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

