You’re Doing Better Than You Think

Everyday were surrounded by people that are accomplishing their goals and reaching new heights, but we never take a minute to sit back and think of our own. We never step back and think of the mountains that we’ve conquered and the things we’ve accomplished.

There have been so many times that I look at what other people are doing and I compare it to myself. I compare it to where i’m at in my life and tear myself apart for it. I tear myself apart for the little things and never give myself credit for the things that I accomplish.

There are people my age that are done school.
There are people my age that are married.
There are people my age that seem like they have it all figured out.

 

So then why am I still here.
Why am I still in the same place I’ve been in for years.

The only problem is, is that i’m not.
I’m not even close to the same spot I was in years ago.

My life isn’t perfect and I don’t have it all figured out. But I know that i’m in the right direction. Things get hard, but that doesn’t mean your moving backwards. We have this idea engraved in our minds that everyone around us has their life together and has it all figured out, when in reality thats probably not the case.

We are harder on ourselves, and in doing so we hold ourselves back.
The harder you on yourself the less you’re going to allow yourself to escape from your comfort zone. The more you tear yourself down, the harder it’s going to be climb mountains.

The idea that you have to have certain things by specific ages is absurd. Your life does not follow a specific timeline. Your not going to be married by 25 and have kids by 30 and thats okay. You might be in school longer than your friends. You might live myself for years before you meet someone that changes your world and thats okay. The idea that there is a set timeline for everyone is crazy because nobody is the same.

Your life will never be perfect, you may not have everything figured out right now but one day you will. One day you’ll meet the love of your life, and one day you’ll have your dream job. One day all of the things you want to achieve will happen. It just takes time. It takes trusting the process and believing in yourself. It takes loving yourself at every time in your life and understanding that you can do it.

Take time out of your day or week and look back on everything that you’ve accomplished so far. Look back on the past month, the past year, the past 5 years… and you’ll see that there have been struggles but you’ve survived them all. You’ve come out on top every single time and you’re stronger for it.

My friends consistently tell me that i’m bound for greatness, but I rarely see it.
The problem with is, is that until I believe it. Until i see it for myself.. it won’t happen.

You’re doing better than you think you are.
Don’t let the idea of specific timelines for your life or the expectations of others make you think that you’re not. Not a single person will ever be able to understand the things that you’ve accomplished up to this point, because they are unique to you. Not a single person will be able to look at your life and decide where you should be… because they are not you.

You are the master of your own life.
Set goals.
Goals that are so big they scare you.
You are the only thing that is capable of holding you back or pushing you forward.
So stop being so hard on yourself and allow yourself to grow. Accept the challenges that life throws your way and understand that you are doing better than you think you are. You may not have it all figured out right now, but you’re headed in the right direction. Nobody has it all figured out, life wouldn’t be as thrilling and unpredictable if we had it all figured out.

Leave a Reply

